When a Node Locked license is activated on a device the resultant license file (that is installed locally) is locked to that device and so cannot be copied to another device.
If it should be necessary to transfer the license to a different device (e.g. due to a hardware failure), it is not possible to directly copy the license file to the replacement device. Instead to transfer the license it will be necessary to
- Delete the license on the existing device if necessary (in the event that the original license is still accessible on the original machine).
- Deactivate the original device and then
- Re-activate the license on the replacement device.
In effect a Node Locked license is transferred by cancelling the activation on the original device and then re-activating the license on the replacement device.
This transfer/deactivation process happens on the Software Potential service and does not ensure the license on the deactivated device is beyond use. In situations where the license file may still be accessible on the device to be deactivated (e.g. transferring to a higher specification replacement device) you may wish to provide a mechanism in your licensed application to trigger deletion of the license on that device. However, the transfer process does NOT confirm the license file has been already been deleted from the deactivated device.
Steps to Deactivate A Device
The following are the steps needed to deactivate a device on which a license has been activated:
- Locate the license to be deactivated using the Search tab on the Software Potential portal and then select View Details.
- In the License Activations section, open the Active Devices table to see each device/machine on which the license has been activated; each entry has a Device Label (which is the computer name of the machine by default) and the date of the last activation on that device.
- On the device to be deactivated click the Deactivate button.
Now you will notice that:
- The device will be shown as Deactivated in the License Activations table and the deactivation date will be recorded.
- The deactivated device is no longer listed in the Active Devices table;
- The Max License Activations and Activations Performed values are unchanged;
- The Deactivations Performed and the Activations Left values will both increase by 1 because deactivating a license allows you to perform an additional activation on another machine. (In effect Max License Activations + Deactivation Performed = Activation Performed + Activation Left.)
Reactivate License on Replacement Device
Now the license can be activated on the replacement machine. Afterwards,
- The License Activations table will reflect this new activation and
- The newly activated device will be listed in the Active Devices table.